Vanilla Custard Cream Puffs

I whipped up these decadent little cream puffs for a fancy champagne birthday party a while ago, I love how impressive cream puffs look but how insanely easy they are to make! The whole process does take some time so to prevent me rushing around the kitchen before the party, I made the shells the day before and filled them with the sweet, rich “custard” filling right before the party.

I reused the Choux a la creme recipe from the first time I made cream puffs. To make the shells more uniform and neat, I actually filled a large ziplock bag with the batter and piped them in about 2.5 inches diameter filled circles.

26641134666_4a811b3325_z

I’ll admit, I used the cheat-version of this because this cream puff filling calls for instant pudding mix. I couldn’t resist the short cut and the surprisingly delicious results. I followed this Cream Puffs recipe from All Recipes.

You will need:

  • a piping bag/ large zip lock bag
  • large mixing bowl
  • whisk
  • spoon
  • measuring cup for liquids
  • 2 (3.5 oz) boxes of instant vanilla pudding  (I got the French Vanilla flavor!)
  • 2 cups of heavy cream
  • 1 cup 1% milk

Add the 2 boxes of pudding to the large mixing bowl, slowly pour in the cream while whisking. Then add in the milk. You should already start feeling the pudding thicken. Leave in the fridge for 1-2 hours, it will have a thick, custard-like texture.

When you are ready to fill the shells, spoon the filling into a piping bag or large zip lock bag. Squeeze out all the air and make sure there’s no air bubbles and the filling has fallen all toward one corner of the bag.

You can slice off the tops of the shells completely and give them little “hats” or I actually like to only cut a slit near the top and fill it in that way. When you are ready to start filling, cut a small tip of the filling bag and start piping in the custard.

Dust lightly with powdered sugar if you’d like.

Voila!

26062088784_c88992f902_z

Leave a Reply

