Healthy Protein Balls

25928271111_b6464645ed_z

This is my first post as a post-grad! Blame my thesis and the race to the graduate finish line for the lack of updates. Most days I was lucky to have time to eat, much less try new recipes or write blog posts.

At the beginning of this year I did make a real effort to make time to work out and to eat healthier – which meant a lot of meal prepping and healthier snacking. I wanted to up my protein intake, but from non-meat sources.

I absolutely had to try these no-bake protein balls from The Healthy Maven. This is my first time making and eating “energy balls” and this one had all the ingredients I love. There are endless versions out there of these little protein-packed snacks in tons of flavors from carrot cake to chocolate chip. Try ’em all and find your fav!

25389544564_abb60cacc1_z

You’ll need:

  • mixing bowl
  • measuring spoons
  • liquid measuring cup
  • dry ingredients measuring cup
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla whey protein powder (*I used a vegan protein powder that I had at home)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup smooth nut butter (almond, peanut, cashew, whatever you like!)
  • 3 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup add-in (e.g. chocolate chips raisins, etc.)
  • 2-4 tablespoons of liquid (I used almond milk, but you can use water, soy, regular milk)
  • air tight container

In your large mixing bowl add in the oats, protein powder, cinnamon, and chia seeds. Mix. 25901572902_86c4a35835_z

Next add in the nut butter, honey and vanilla. Stir, stir, stir! 25901667012_4139594f84_z

After everything is thoroughly mixed, it should be sticky but still dry and crumbly. Add in your raisins, chocolate chips, or other add-ins you desire. This gives it some extra flavor and texture.

Here’s the fun, messy part. Start with 1 tablespoon of the liquid and mix everything with your hands. If the mixture is still pretty crumbly and not holding shape, then add another tablespoon of liquid. Repeat this until it is the desired texture and you feel like you can shape it into balls. If it’s too dry, it will fall apart, if there’s too much liquid it will be very messy and won’t hold it’s shape. 25393375863_90d61dd5ca_z

Roll into bite-size balls and place in a container. Put it in the fridge for 30 minutes to set.

The 30 minutes felt like such a long time, I couldn’t want to try it! When I finally did, I was so excited to find a recipe for a delicious, healthy, super-filling, and protein-packed snack! These are easy to take anywhere, great for a mid-afternoon snack to carry you over to dinner. The energy balls look small but are so dense with nut butter and oats that just one will make you feel pretty full. I added raisins and they were the perfect touch of sweetness! These should keep for about 2 weeks in the fridge. 25393600673_b87260bc89_zNow that school’s out (forever!), I hope I have more time to try and share new recipes. Don’t worry, I may be trying to eat healthier, but that does not mean the end of desserts and decadent sweets for Sweet Therapy.

Leave a Reply

