Japanese-style Cheesecake in a Rice Cooker!

This is going to be my last post of 2014! I had this recipe bookmarked for a long time and just kept putting it off until the end of the year! It’s a perfect light dessert to end the year with (before we start on all those resolutions…).

When I was a kid, I used to love love New York-style cheesecake- with its crunchy sweet crust and dense, rich creamy cheese layer- I would eat it every chance I got. Over the years I started thinking the regular cheesecakes were too sweet, too rich, and too unhealthy. I did continue to love the Japanese-style “sponge” cheesecakes that you can find pre-packaged at Asian supermarkets for $2-3. They were crustless, super fluffy and light, with a hint of sweetness and cheese. Japanese cheesecakes are also usually made steamed or baked.

IMG_0476

This was one of those rare occasions I set out to find a recipe for something specific I wanted to make. I found Namekkoseijin’s Ultra-Easy Cheesecake in a Rice Cooker Recipe from Cookpad Japan.

IMG_0466You will need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 40 g (for light sweetness), 60-80 g (normal sweetness), or 100 g (sweet!)
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 200 g of cream cheese
  • 200 ml of heavy cream (or milk)
  • 40 g of pancake mix (or cake flour)

IMG_0465There’s no easy way to convert the measurements so I busted out my trusty kitchen scale. This is 100 g of sugar shown here (I have a sweet tooth!).

IMG_0467My cat, Tenshi, makes here first appearance on Sweet Therapy. I know having a cat in the kitchen is not too sanitary, but she was super curious about my Kitchen Aid mixer. I had forgotten to thaw the cream cheese so I microwaved the block for about 30 seconds in 10 second intervals and stirring. I added the eggs, lemon juice and sugar and blended until it looked smooth with no chunks.

IMG_0468I added the pancake flour and the cream, spoonfuls at a time and switching between the ingredients. Mix until it is well blended and smooth, if you have a sieve- it is recommended to run it through for a smooth texture. The mixture should still be very thin and watery.

IMG_0471Pour the mixture into a rice cooker (no need to butter or grease the bowl) and hit the cook button! I don’t have a fancy Asian rice cooker, I’m still using the one I used in college that I’m pretty sure I bought in a drug store. I found my rice cooker going to “warm” when clearly the cake was not even solid yet. I had to hit the “cook” button for about 10 times until the cake was solid enough. Stick a toothpick or wooden chopstick in to make sure it comes out clean. 

IMG_0473In the Cookpad recipe, you are suppose to remove the rice cooker bowl, cover it with plastic wrap and cool until room temperature. When it’s cool, place a plate (or use your hand) into the container and flip the whole thing right side up onto the plate.

Well…I got too excited and tried to flip the cake early while it was still pretty warm and I was distracted talking so my cake literally fell apart! It’s a very soft, delicate cake so please wait! I managed to salvage a few pieces for pictures. IMG_0475My cheesecake was still a bit undercooked, but a perfect taste of sweetness and has much more cheese flavor than the store bought cakes. It’s a perfect post-dinner dessert that won’t fill you up but will satisfy your sweet tooth.

IMG_0474

Have a happy and safe New Year’s Eve! 

May your new year be filled with love, joy, good people and good food! ~ Sweet Therapy

4 thoughts on “Japanese-style Cheesecake in a Rice Cooker!

  1. Pingback: 10 Utilidades incríveis (e deliciosas) para Panela Elétrica de Arroz | SOS Solteiros

  2. Pingback: 10 Utilidades incríveis (e deliciosas) para Panela Elétrica de Arroz - Receitas e Dicas Rápidas

  3. Pingback: 10 Utilidades incríveis (e deliciosas) para Panela Elétrica de Arroz | Verdade querida…

  4. Pingback: 10 RECEITAS INCRÍVEIS (E DELICIOSAS) PARA PANELA ELÉTRICA DE ARROZ - Receitas e Dicas Rápidas

Leave a Reply

