Greetings from Seattle! and Pumpkin Cream Puffs

I’m blogging to you from my new home in rainy Seattle, I’ve got a bigger brand new kitchen yet no time to bake in it! Update: In September, my boyfriend, cat and I packed up my little Honda and drove 800+ miles from San Francisco so I could fulfill my dream of attending University of Washington for graduate school. Sadly I had to leave behind a lot of my cake decorating and baking tools at my parents’ place – trading my tools for textbooks. I’ve survived my first quarter so now hopefully I can do a little bit of catching up during my Winter Break.

Let me kick off this new chapter with Pumpkin Cream Puffs a.k.a. Profiterole a.k.a. Choux a la creme (if you want to get more fancy pants with it). I made these a few weeks ago and brought them to my first Friendsgiving!

Note: while a pretty simple recipe, the whole thing from start to finish will take you a good 5-6 hours so plan accordingly! I ended up rushing late to my dinner.

2014-11-27 17.33.09

These little guys are incredibly easy to make and I didn’t believe it until I made them. I applaud the French for keeping it simple.

Ingredients you’ll need:

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup butter (cold is okay)
  • 2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 eggs

2014-11-27 17.29.58

Preheat the over to 400F. In saucepan combine the water, butter, sugar, and salt. Bring it to a gentle boil over medium heat. Once it starts boiling, turn off the heat and immediately add the flour and stir stir stir!

2014-11-26 22.34.39

The mixture will quickly turn into a doughy ball that pulls away from the pan’s side. 2014-11-26 22.37.27

Remove the pan from heat and let it cool for about 10 minutes. I transferred the dough to my stand mixer next, but if you don’t have one-consider the next step a good arm work out! Add the 3 eggs, one at a time, and beat well. The mixture will become considerably more “goop-y”.
2014-11-26 22.53.27

The next step is optional. I am a little OCD so I wanted my cream puffs to be smaller and uniform in shape, so I poured all the dough into a makeshift piping bag. You can also just drop tablespoons of dough on to your baking sheet.

2014-11-26 23.22.55

Here’s a great little trick I learned awhile ago. If you are not good at estimating how much to pipe like me, then take a small glass or cup and dip the rim of it into some flour and “stamp” rings onto your baking sheet.

2014-11-26 23.18.58

Okay okay, I know they do not look particularly appealing right now….

2014-11-27 00.09.44

To get rid of those little peaks and to give the puffs a rounded top, dip your finger in water and tap on the peaks.

2014-11-26 23.28.56

30-35 minutes later, when they are light golden brown and firm- you’ve got cream puffs!

2014-11-27 00.03.38

Transfer them to a wire rack to cool. Now it’s time for Part 2: the filling!

You will need:

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 3 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin (Although personally I would have used about 1/2 cup- yes, there is a thing as too much pumpkin!) 

In a chilled metal mixing bowl beat the whipping cream, sugar and pumpkin spice with an electronic mixer on medium speed until soft peaks form.

2014-11-27 15.10.51

Fold in canned pumpkin gently. Cover and chill for up to 4 hours.

2014-11-27 15.07.55

While you are waiting, you can start slicing up your puffs horizontally with a serrated knife. The puffs are airy and pretty much hollow, but the shell should also be strong enough to not crumble or break in your hands while cutting them.

2014-11-27 00.29.13

While the cream filling is ready to go, fill up a piping bag with a wide tip OR a large ziplock bag with about 1/2 inch corner cut off.

2014-11-27 17.20.26

This was my favorite part: pipe the cream in as much as you want- some people like to be able to seal the cream in, some people like lots of filling and to have the top shell sit on top of the cream.

2014-11-27 17.26.45

The original recipe actually has maple-caramel sauce too, but since I needed to transport these I thought it’d be way too messy and I also think the cream puffs are light and sweet- prefect for a post-fest dessert.

2014-11-27 17.27.03

Just for fun, I plated one with warmed Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Caramel Sauce(!) and toasted pecans.

2014-11-27 17.30.16-1

Hope you all had a good Thanksgiving! I’m thankful for friends, food, living in an awesome city like Seattle and my Sweet Therapy readers!

2014-11-27 19.46.07

3 thoughts on “Greetings from Seattle! and Pumpkin Cream Puffs

  1. Pingback: Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes with Vanilla Wafter Crust | Sweet Therapy

  2. Pingback: Vanilla Custard Cream Puffs | Sweet Therapy

Leave a Reply

