Wilton Course 2: Flowers and Cake Design (Day 1)

After a crazy past couple of months, I finally felt like I had enough free time to sign up for more Wilton cake classes at Michael’s! For just $20 I am taking a 2 hour class every Wednesday this month. The instructor was Gloria again, she’s really sweet and remembered me from my the first course I took. I was surprised to find out that the class was just me and one other student…$20 for a semi-private cake class yay! Though this time I was disappointed to find out that now Michael’s requires students to purchase their own course booklets (last time it was provided by the class).
2014-02-05 18.42.30

We wasted no time and jumped right into trying out gum paste and fondant. We mixed some fondant (looked like bars of play dough) and gum paste (lives up to the name) and tried out the Cut-n-Press Set. 2014-02-05 18.42.33It was fast and easy to make these adorable little button flowers- great for a kid’s birthday cake!

2014-02-06 18.03.08

I got to use lots of new tools from cake tool kit to make these pansies- really pretty and delicate! I did not get to take a lot of pictures in class, because my hands were stained by the pink fondant!

2014-02-06 00.35.11

2014-02-06 18.02.58

It’s pretty amazing what some colored gum paste and fondant can become with the right tools! I can tell already this class is going to be a lot of work, but I’m really excited to learn more!

Leave a Reply

