Italian Kale Chips

Decided to try out something savory and healthy to balance out all those sweet postings I made about cakes! So a few Sundays ago I made a lovely morning trip to the local farmer’s market at 9th & IrvingΒ and I brought home all sorts of good finds like heirloom tomatoes, fresh basil, and kale! I have always wanted to try making my own kale chips and I found this great recipe with video instructions from Kath Eats Real Food.

2013-10-16 00.27.43

Of course it’s always better to use fresh ingredients, but if you are like me and often buy too much food that sits in the fridge, the slight pro to this recipe is that even if you have some not-so-fresh kale it will still come out great because you are baking it anyways.

2013-10-16 00.32.42

You start by removing the tough stems and spines of the kale and coating all the leaves in olive oil and seasoning. I made my Italian flavor by using the left over oil from a container of marinated mozzarella balls! (Hey why not?) and added some kosher salt. Make sure it’s kosher because regular salt will be too salty.

2013-10-16 00.32.49

I also added a packet of parmesan cheese left over from our pizza order the other night! Make sure all the leaves are coated evenly. Lay all the leaves as flat as possible on a cookie sheet and bake at 375 for about 15 mins when you see the edges start turning brown and the leaves have shrunken significantly. Leave out for a few minutes to cool and transfer them to a paper-towel lined plate.

2013-10-16 00.56.50

They came out so crispy and delicate and packed with flavor! This is the best guilt-free snack ever! I love kale, but now I found another reason to love it!

2013-10-16 00.59.50

2013-10-16 01.00.24

 

Leave a Reply

