Wilton Cake Decorating Class – Lesson 1

On Monday I was practically flying out the door to get to my first cake decorating class on time! I still had to quickly pick up a few items for class, like this super pack of gel dye for coloring icing:12 colors and endless possibilities!

Image

There’s about 12 people in the class- all who, of course, love to bake and have varying levels of experience. I’m usually the kid who hides in the back, but I sat front and center so I can get a good view of the demos that our instructor, Gloria, was doing. What comes with the class is a glossy guidebook/workbook that was really helpful to follow along. You can tell Gloria is “Wilton-trained” because she practically quoted the book word-for-word. I really did appreciate that this was real “basic” class and did not make assumptions of people’s skill levels. She went over consistencies of icings, how and what they should be used for depending on stiffness, how to level a cake, and how to frost and smooth out a cake! I already learned so much on the first day.

ImageAll the student kits come with a “practice card” that allows you to practice piping – we started with star tip #18.

Image

Then we were allowed to pipe the designs on to our cookies, this was a lot harder than I thought. To make things look professional, I’m really going to have to practice more!

Image

Last few minutes of the class, Gloria gave us homework! She showed us all the tools and materials we will need to bring (this included many Wilton gadgets that I did not have but now have an overwhelming desire to purchase) and we have to bake and frost a cake to bring to our next class. Next week to get to decorate a real cake!

Leave a Reply

