Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

A few of my coworkers started “Craft Night” last year because we wanted to get together and do crafts and hang out outside of the office. Our occasional Girls’ Night In/ Craft Nights have evolved into what would be more aptly named Food & Movie Night (we got a little lazy on the crafting part)!

I had the pleasure of hosting this month and since one of my coworkers is vegan, I decided I might as well try my hand at a vegan recipe. I borrowed this awesome Vegan Chocolate Cupcake recipe from Oh She Glows.

2013-03-20 22.25.46

As I started following the recipe I was skeptical and curious to see how these cupcakes were going to turn out. After all- a cupcake without eggs or butter?? Whaaaaaat?!

2013-03-20 22.35.21

I christened my new Kitchen Aid Artisan stand mixer with this recipe- it was pretty great to have both of my hands free while the ingredients mixed smoothly and thoroughly.

2013-03-20 22.45.01

A little bit of cocoa powder goes a long way- smelled so chocolatey! The batter came out a bit more watery and thin than what I was used to seeing in regular recipes.

2013-03-20 22.48.39

Fill each cup about 3/4 full and they puff up really nicely with a glossy dome.

2013-03-20 23.00.04 2013-03-20 23.27.41

End result: let me just say, these little guys blew my mind- they tasted so good! I kept asking myself, “How can they be vegan?!?!?!”

They were much more light, moist, and spongey than traditional cupcakes- probably because of the oil and lack of eggs in the recipe. The chocolate taste was really rich and not too sweet. We just ate them plain with no frosting and it was a great healthy dessert.

2013-03-22 00.43.08

Leave a Reply

