Red Velvet Cupcakes

Despite being really busy, I made some sweet treats for V-day/ S.A.D. (Single Awareness Day). It would have been a real shame if I did not make something to share the love. I fell back into old habits of being a late night baker…didn’t go to bed until 1am.

DSCN3305

A little bit of cocoa goes a long way for red velvet cupcakes.

DSCN3307

I really wanted to try some new, but I did not have time to explore new recipes so I stayed with a tried-and-true, crowd pleaser: Southern Red Velvet Cupcakes, which I used for my Zombie cupcakes.

DSCN3308

I really like that this recipe uses vegetable oil instead of butter. The oil really makes it soft and moist.

DSCN3309

DSCN3310

The most laborious process is combining the three separate mixtures together, bit by bit. After many times making this recipe, I finally remember to put the oil and eggs in the biggest mixing bowl, because that is the one that will hold the final mixture. Doing this with a hand mixer was quite the work out, maybe some day I will have a Kitchen Aid stand mixer…..this nonprofit worker can only dream.

DSCN3311

Confession time: I only had 1/2 of the red food dye that the recipe called for…luckily it still came out pretty reddish.

 

DSCN3312

Frosted the cupcakes in the morning with store-bought whipped strawberry frosting and topped each one with a juicy, bright red “heart”.

DSCN3319

DSCN3320

This one I left as a surprise for my boyfriend, the rest I took to work for my co-workers and my youth group.

DSCN3326

DSCN3329

 Hope every day is filled with love and sweetness!

Leave a Reply

