Banana Dessert Boats

Happy Sunday! I came back from cardio kickboxing famished this morning! Even after lunch I still wanted a little something…looked around my shelf…maybe a banana?

Wait….why just have a plain ol’ banana when you can stuff it full of marshmallows and chocolate chips?!

I remember seeing something like this on Pintrestย and when you Google “banana marshmallow chocolate” – wondrous recipes pop up with many variations. Possible topping ideas:

  • Nutella hazelnut spread
  • peanut better/ nut butters of any kind
  • chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, etc.
  • marshmallows
  • honey
  • crushed almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans, etc.
  • graham crackers (S’mores!)

For this version I threw in mini marshmallows, chocolate chips, and crushed pecans I found in my baking pantry.

DSCN3180

Start by slicing open into a ripe banana with the peel on. Careful to not cut through to the other side.

DSCN3183

Stuff it with as much goodies as you can and want.

DSCN3186

Wrap banana in foil and place in oven for about 10-15 mins for at 300 degrees F. You can put it in longer if you want everything extra gooey.

DSCN3187

And there you have it: a sweet snack or well-portioned dessert.

DSCN3189

A somewhat healthy dessert? Hey I got you to eat a fruit didn’t I?

DSCN3190

Tell me that doesn’t look tempting?

Leave a Reply

