Happy 2013 + Honey Garlic Chicken!

HAPPY 2013  readers!

 May this year be full of good intentions, good people and good food!

My not-so-pro picture of fireworks at the Ferry Building in San Francisco, Jan.1, 2013

Fireworks at the Ferry Building in San Francisco, Jan.1, 2013

While I decided to try something new this year and NOT make resolutions, if I did…it would be to try more new recipes!! I’ve been itchin’ to try out my new slow cooker that I got for Christmas! From what I’ve heard- this baby is multi-talented! After perusing through tons of drool-worthy slow cooker recipes, I chose to try Honey Garlic Chicken from Lovin’ From the Oven. Just a few simple ingredients and a few simple steps, seemed pretty easy to start off my slow cooker venture!

DSCN3144

cheap and perfect portions from the Target grocery section

DSCN3145

I’m embarrassed to say that I actually had to go out and buy all these ingredients! Who doesn’t have ketchup at home?!

  • 3-4 chicken breast fillets (frozen/ thawed or fresh)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup honey

DSCN3150

DSCN3153

Mix well until it becomes a lovely glaze and pour evenly over fillets that are placed flatly at the bottom of the stoneware.

DSCN3155

DSCN3158

 And it’s ready to sllllllooowwwwlllyyyyyy cook for 6 hours. By hour 1 my whole apartment started smelling so amazing, I kept taking peeks through the glass lid, wondering “Is it done yet?!”

So after washing some dishes, watching TV, purging my closet, cleaning my room, crafting a DIY T-shirt, napping, and seeing some friends = 6 hours later:

DSCN3162

 VOILA! Honey Garlic Slow-cooked Chicken on a bed of Trader Joe’s multigrain pilaf and steamed veggies.

DSCN3164

The sauce tasted very sweet and tangy, I would’ve preferred more honey flavor than ketchup flavor. The flavor penetrated into the fillet for about 2 millimeters and the rest of the chicken did not get a lot of the honey-garlic flavor, I would try to marinate it first or even cut the meat into smaller pieces, maybe?

DSCN3165 This was a great first slow cooker experience, I can not wait to try more….me thinks pork chops!

Leave a Reply

