Baked Penne with Roasted Vegetables

I love baked pasta dishes because they are filling and, best of all, saves me time with an abundance of leftovers. I was also craving some roasted vegetables after eating some at a work potluck a few weeks ago, so this Baked Penne with Roasted Vegetables recipe from Food Network just hits the spot.

DSCN2825

I went to 2 supermarkets to find summer squash but couldn’t find any so I just left it out. I also added Aidells artichoke and garlic chicken sausage to the recipe for flavor and meat. I love mushrooms so I added more than the recipe called for (I know, I know, I’m such a rebel!)

DSCN2826

I usually print my recipes out or just bring my laptop into the kitchen but I’m always worried about it falling or getting dirty. My kitchen is super tiny so I finally thought of using my Nexus 7 as a my recipe book! It’s so awesome!! Plus I can listen to some tunes and dance while I cook!

DSCN2830This is a pretty time consuming recipe just because there are many steps to go through: roasting, boiling, and baking. First I chopped up all my vegetables and tossed it with extra virgin olive oil and Italian Herb mix.

A new addition to my spice collection.

A new addition to my spice collection.

DSCN2832

After mixing it really well, spread the vegetables on a shallow pan and roast in the oven for 15 mins at 450 F.

While I waited for the vegetables to roast, I boiled the penne chopped up the sausage into coins and prepped my Pyrex glass pan (An AWESOME investment if you bake a lot).

Can I just eat it now???

Can I just eat it now???

In a giant bowl mix the marinara sauce, pasta, and roasted vegetables together with the frozen peas, cheeses and sausage. Mix gently so you don’t break the pasta. The spread the mix into the greased pan and sprinkle on parmesan cheese and…yes those are giant cubes of butter.

Ready to be popped into the oven.

Ready to be popped into the oven.

I really wanted to just start eating this but you know what they say: all good things come to those who wait. And there was just one more step to go: bake for 25 mins.

DSCN2841

This came out beautifully! And baking it was the grand finale- ooey-gooey cheeses melted, top layer of penne was slightly burnt and crispy which was the BEST part!!

DSCN2843

DSCN2841Dinner is served!

One thought on “Baked Penne with Roasted Vegetables

  1. Pingback: Broccoli Bites « Sweet Therapy

Leave a Reply

