Egg & Mushroom Strata

What’s a strata???

Breakfast strata is in the family of egg dishes like frittatas, quiches, and casseroles. A strata is kind of like a savory bread pudding.

A busy and broke social worker like moi loves meals that can be made once and feed for a week. This egg strata was great to use up odd and ends I had in my fridge. I took the liberty to add frozen spinach and sun-dried tomatoes.

To make it healthier however I can, I scooped out a few egg yolks. The dijon, garlic and pepper makes this mix smell amazing, you know this strata is going to be very flavorful.

I have to admit I do not know if using a certain kind of bread matters, but the buttermilk bread may have been too “soft” and dense. Other strata recipes call for stale bread or hard French bread which could make it less soggy.

If you want to make it “non-vegetarian”- add bacon, sausage or ham to it. Mmmm bacon.

Mountain High Egg and Mushroom Strata

Leave a Reply

