Soup + Cheddar Biscuits Lunch

I am known to only bake at night, but on this nice lazy Sunday I manage to try some new recipes while the sun is still out!

When I make something, it’s usually brought about by a “recipe of opportunity” as I like to call it. I rarely actually have something in mind I want to make. It’s not “oh I want to make *this* I will go by the specific ingredients” it’s usually more like, “oh I have some  _______ left over, what can I make with this?” and this is where Allrecipes.com‘s ingredient search flies in to the rescue.

I had some buttermilk left over from my Zombie Cupcake recipe and some celery, broccoli, and potatoes I got from work (Poor social worker….don’t judge me.)

Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits

Ready..set…go!

adding buttermilk to the dry mix

being the kitchen noob that I am I had no idea what a “biscuit cutter” is…I used a knife- it worked.

This was a easy, quick recipe- with simple ingredients you can find at home, the only thing I needed to buy was the sharp cheddar cheese. I did omit the cayenne pepper because I did not have any on hand.

Fluffy cheddar biscuits!

This was my first try making savory biscuits and they turned out quite tasty, I lost track of how many I was nibbling on while I was making the soup!

I actually find cooking a lot more challenging than baking sweets, but I’ve eased into the cooking realm with soups and chili. Finding a decent recipe for celery was surprisingly hard. What the hell do you do with celery (besides eat it raw with peanut butter?!)

Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup 

This was a great healthy recipe with loads of every kind of veggie you can think of and no need to add butter or oil! The peanut butter gives it a southeast/Thai-style flavor, slightly sweet and nutty.

Round 2! (Yes that is my laptop sitting on top of the toaster oven.)

veggies galore!

the final product

Soup + Biscuits = delicious light lunch

Leave a Reply

