Red Velvet Cake

A cake that is bright red is certain to capture your attention and your taste buds. Red velvet is one of my favorite cakes – to eat and make! A lot of people ask, “What is red velvet?” It’d say it’s actually a super rich, moist, chocolate cake! But the red dye covers the light brown color that it naturally comes from adding the cocoa powder and gives it some fancy flare.

 I love using this Southern Red Velvet recipe from the Food Network by Cakeman Raven.

  • Vegetable oil for the pans
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring (1 ounce)
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Dry ingredients

Please note that you mix the DRY ingredients into the WET ingredients gradually. It makes the mixture much less lumpy and smooth. My kitchen is too small and I’m too poor to have a stand mixer so I do it the old fashion way: have a baking buddy pour the dry mix into the wet mix as I continuously stir!

I split up the recipe for actually 12 cupcakes and 1 single-layer cake. I wanted to make a small cake for my coworker’s regular Craft Night gettogethers.

Most important thing I learned about frosting is to make sure your cake is completely cooled, not even slightly warm, before you start slathering the frosting or else it gets messy and cake pieces will start sticking to the frosting. The cooling racks are a must, so air can circulate under and above.

Cheating.

I admit it….I used store-bought frosting. *hangs head in shame* But the last time I tried to make my own cream cheese frosting, it broke my hand mixer and had to spread lumpy frosting. I guess I’m still a bit traumatized and haven’t worked up the courage to make my own frosting yet. For $2.50 it make things a lot easier….

I’m still a pretty big newbie to frosting and decorating cakes, but I’m practicing! I learned that you dump all the frosting in the middle and spread outward to get smooth and even results. You can see I still got some cake mixed up in the frosting which can be really frustrating. Practice, practice!

Frosting is surprisingly hard to control and should never be hurried. The black frosting is a pair of scissors and the blue lump is suppose to be a ball of yarn!

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

